top of page

When Honesty Means Saying 'No'

This week, I had an interview for a job which seemed like a good fit for me. It was a contract job for a copy editor position. Even though it was a phone interview, I still dressed up and did my makeup, excited and nervous. I spun my ring around my finger, pausing every few seconds to press it against my palm.

Waiting.

When the phone rang, I jumped, even though I was holding it in my hand. I took a deep breath and answered. I had a list of notes in front of me which included questions, key words, etc.

“How many hours are you willing to commit to the position?” asked the interviewer.

I paused a moment or two. Prior to graduating college, I took the time to assess what my future would look like. I knew I wouldn’t be able to work full-time. It wasn’t an easy decision for me—I feel good when I’m being productive and doing work, and just like any other recent college graduate, I want an income that will allow me to have independence—but I didn’t want to agree to work full-time only to resign a short while later because it was too much for me.

In this particular instance, I was under the impression that the job didn’t have a requirement of certain hours a week, but that the employee needed to be certain the work got done. Knowing that I could write and edit relatively quickly, I estimated the number of hours I could work and waited for a response.

“We need someone who is able to work at least a 40 hour work week. I’ll keep your name in case we have something for you in the future…”

The interviewer was very polite and kind, assuring me that I had been one of few people who had been called about the position. The thing that bothered me most wasn’t the loss of the potential job, but knowing if I were able-bodied, I would have been able to do it, and likely would have been offered the position.

My list of jobs I've applied to recently.

Part of being an adult means being honest with myself and with others. If I were to be dishonest, I know it would be a disservice to myself and my future employers.

There are other jobs out there, of course, jobs which will be a much better fit. I know even people who aren’t disabled turn down jobs that aren’t the right fit. I also know I may be able to work full-time in the future. Right now, I am continuing the search while also spending time with family, friends, and pets, freelancing, and volunteering. Luckily, people around me are patient and understanding. As for the animals, I hardly think they mind me having a little extra time. :)

Toby honestly just wants me to cuddle 100% of the time.

The right job will not come at the cost of my health. Nobody should have to sacrifice their health for a job. Though it may take me longer than the average person, I know I will find something as long as I continue searching.

Let me know: have you ever had to say ‘no’ to an opportunity because of your disability?

bottom of page