top of page

A Conversation About Pain

Acupuncture is one of the ways I manage my chronic pain. I couldn’t explain to you just how it works—seriously, why would anyone think sticking little needles strategically in your body would help your pain?—I know that it does. Some of my friends have squirmed at the idea of getting acupuncture, but it isn’t painful, the needles are extremely thin, and my acupuncturist is incredibly knowledgeable and is mindful to prioritize my comfort. When I complete a session, I feel calmer, in less pain, and my usually twitchy, shaky body is able to stay still.

Even though alternative treatments like acupuncture and massage help many people with chronic pain, myself included, these treatments aren’t often covered by health insurance. I am fortunate to be able to receive acupuncture, but these treatments need to become available to everyone. Considering that pain medication is being monitored so strictly today, covering non-medicinal treatments would be to insurance companies’ advantage. Just because acupuncture works for me doesn’t mean it’ll work for every person with chronic pain, but if it were accessible, patients could try it and other alternative treatments without fearing the side-effects.

A woman receiving acupuncture looking relaxed.

Basically me receiving acupuncture.

If the medical industry as a whole truly cares about increasing quality of life for patients with chronic pain and halting the opioid epidemic, it’s going to have to make more treatments available—as in ADA accessible, commonplace, and affordable. If there is a wellness center in my town that offers acupuncture but I have to choose between acupuncture and paying rent, that’s not accessible. Professionals who provide services such as acupuncture deserve to be paid, but insurance needs to cover it.

Slowly, we are making progress. It’s encouraging to see medical marijuana legalized in half of the country (though it isn’t legal in Virginia currently), but we need to expand the conversation about how we treat chronic pain. Medical marijuana is the key to relieving pain for some, and for others, biofeedback may work best. Without the ability to experiment with different treatments, though, patients aren’t even given the chance to improve.

I want to make it clear that I’m not suggesting we ignore western medicine altogether. I don’t expect acupuncture to stop my tachycardia, I’m not going to throw away my beta blockers just because I meditate, and I’m definitely going to continue taking my Tramadol. However, western and eastern medicine are often complementary of each other. The combination of medication and alternative treatments can mean the difference between being bed-bound and being functional. For me, functionality looks like writing, photography, spending time with friends and family, traveling (though I'd love to do more in the future), being able to leave the house, and looking for a part-time job.

A future with less pain = more traveling!

Living with less pain means a person can focus on doing what they love instead of dragging themselves through each day. I accept the likelihood that chronic pain will always be a part of my life, and I’m not asking for my pain to be eliminated: I just want a little less so I can live a little more.

bottom of page